1st Intermediate Period   Manetho    
  9th/10th Dynasty   Turin Kinglist    
  11th Dynasty        
  Middle Kingdom        
  11th Dynasty        
  12th Dynasty        


Unser Tipp für Ihren Urlaub in Ägypten: Buchen Sie Ihre Nilkreuzfahrt oder Ägypten Rundreise direkt beim Rundreise Spezialisten. Engel Reisen stellt Ihnen passende Reisen für Ihren Ägypten Urlaub zusammen! Bereisen Sie Ägypten, das Land der Pharaonen auf einer Nilkreuzfahrt oder erleben Sie Ägypten Total auf einer Ägypten Rundreise mit Kairo, Nilkreuzfahrt und Ägypten Urlaub am roten Meer. Die Nilkreuzfahrten bieten das maximale Kulturerlebnis um Ägypten hautnah und entspannt kennen zu lernen. Ägypten Reisen bucht man günstig bei Engel Reisen: last minute Ägypten, Hurghada Ägypten Angebote finden Sie unter dem jeweiligem Link unseres Vertriebsparters für Ägypten. Suchmaschinenoptimierung von Geniprise designs.

Viele Last Minute Ägypten Angebote finden Sie Ihrem Ägypten Spezialist. Buchen Sie Ihre Ägypten Reise Kairo Nilkreuzfahrt baden bei uns und profitieren Sie von unserem Frühbucherrabat.

After the disintegration of the central government at the end of the Old Kingdom, power had shifted to several local rulers who usurped royal power, even though their territory was often very limited. One of these local rulers was Antef I of the provincial city of Thebes in Upper-Egypt. That this Antef I, and his two immediate successors, had the ambition to once re-unite Egypt under Theban rule, is shown by the fact that they all claimed to be "King of Upper- and Lower-Egypt" and that they added a Horus-name to their titulary.

Their ambition was fulfilled by the 4th king of the 11th Dynasty, Mentuhotep II, who, during his more than 50-year long reign finally succeeded in ending the 9/10th Dynasty that ruled over Heracleopolis thus re-uniting the country. Because of this, Mentuhotep II was considered by later tradition as the 'second founder' of the country. His name would be placed prominently in many king-lists. Modern-day history books let the Middle Kingdom begin with the reign of this king.

His two successors do not appear to have been as formidable as he was. There even appear to have been some dynastic problems at the end of the dynasty: the name of the last Mentuhotep is missing in several of the important king-lists. The Turin King-list only mentions three Mentuhoteps, including a Mentuhotep who preceded Antef I, and in the summation of the dynasty notes a discrepancy of 7 years for the dynasty. This discrepancy is often interpreted as the duration of the last Mentuhotep's reign.

Different history books will often give different numbers to the kings named Mentuhotep. Sometimes the uniter of Egypt will be referred to as Mentuhotep I, other times as Mentuhotep II. The Turin King-list mentions a total of 3 kings with that name, but this includes an unattested Mentuhotep before Antef I and excludes the last king of the 11th Dynasty.

In some history books, this Mentuhotep is considered the first of that name, making the king who reunited Egypt the second  Mentuhotep. However, because Antef I was the first Theban ruler to have claimed to be a king, other Egyptologists do not consider the older Mentuhotep as a king and thus do not count him as such. In their books, Mentuhotep I is the king who finally defeated the kings of the 9th/10th Dynasty.

More recently, the different Mentuhoteps are no longer identified by a number, but by adding their pre-nomen to their name. Thus Mentuhotep Nebhepetre is used to refer to the king who ended the 9th/10th Dynasty. For the sake of easy recognition, however, this site will continue to use sequence numbers for the Mentuhotep's, considering the unattested predecessor of Antef I as the first Mentuhotep.

The table below lists the kings of the 11th Dynasty.


Statue of Deir el-Bahari

Mentuhotep II re-united Egypt after almost a century of internal conflict and civil war.

  Name Manetho Highest Year Dates (*)
  Mentuhotep (I)      
  Antef I     2134 - 2118
  Antef II     2118 - 2069
  Antef III     2069 - 2061
Click for more information about Mentuhotep II Mentuhotep II     2061 - 2010
Click for more information about Mentuhotep III Mentuhotep III     2010 - 1998
  Mentuhotep IV     1998 - 1991

(*) Note that all dates are approximations only and that even the length of each king's tenure of power is subject to debate.